Starchitect Tadao Ando, spiritual Japanese architecture

Black and white photo of Hyogo Prefectural Art Museum by architect Tadao Ando

Starchitect Tadao Ando, spiritual Japanese architecture

Starchitect Tadao Ando, spiritual Japanese architecture 1800 941 Methods Studio

Tadao Ando: “Space only comes to life when people enter it. The essential role of architecture, the role of space, within architecture, consists in promoting interaction between people, (…) and above all in stimulating reflection within people."

Black and white photo of Hyogo Prefectural Art Museum by architect Tadao AndoWhen we talk about the main contemporary architects, we often talk about stars in the architectural profession. Throughout their careers, each of them has built a philosophy, a stroke of the pen, an identity. Tadao Ando is one of them: both a philosopher and an architect.

Throughout his career he has created spaces where man can refocus on their emotions or their ideas. These projects, filled with spirituality, are very often linked to culture, religion, or private commissions for homes. Over his career he has become one of the references of spiritual architecture in the later 20th and early 21st century.

 

The Spiritual Havens of the Architect Tadao Ando

Looking at Tadao Ando’s creation,we note that religion in the broad sense of the term holds an important place. He has created spaces filled with spirituality that are able to reach all those entering them in a universal way.

 

Black and white photo of Awaji water temple by architect Tadao AndoTadao Ando’s Water Temple

Tadao Ando reinvented building traditions in Japanese Buddhist temples.He preferred concrete. found in many of his works, to traditional wood. This change may seem radical but it allows for the creation of a succession of spaces focused both on religious symbolism and on the sensory experience..

One of his works, the Water Temple, is located the middle of a bamboo forest, paddy fields, and mountains. First we come across a polished concrete barrier, three meters high, that protects the entrance to the temple. Once past this barrier, we reach the lotus pool,with a discreet and thin concrete border. This has strong symbolism in the Buddhist religion. It represents the purity of faith in Buddha which emerges from within the life of ordinary people and enables them to access Nirvana.

The path to the prayer hall passes through the center of the pool via a staircase and takes the visitor, or devotee, on a stroll through architecture before arriving at a Buddha bathed in natural light. 

 

Black and white photo of Ibaraki Church of Light by architect Tadao Ando

The Church of Light in Osaka

Another spiritual work by Tadao Ando, the Church of the Light in Osaka, built in 1988, was designed to replace the existing wooden church.

Because of the very small budget, the design was limited to a no-frills building, just the essentials: a floor, walls, a ceiling, and openings to let in light. The church consists of two spaces made of rectangular concrete blocks. It is made up of a 6m x 6m x 18m parallelepiped crossed by a slanting wall which energizes the space.

The building abandoned all ornament in favor of spirituality coming from the light piercing through the openings, notably the most iconic one created by a cross in a wall. Further proof of the tiny construction budget is in the pews which are made from pieces of scaffolding painted black.They emphasis the austere and minimalist aspect of the church. 

 

Tadao Ando in Paris: the UNESCO meditation space

Black and white photo of the meditation space at Unesco by Tadao AndoIn 1995 UNESCO’s headquarters in Paris invited designs to mark the 50th anniversary of the institution and Tadao Ando’s proposal was selected. He created a Meditation space to allow everyone to pray for peace. Made up of a cylindrical area, 6 meters in diameter and height, the interior may at first appear austere as the walls and ceiling are made of bare concrete. But as with the church in Osaka, light gradually inhabits the place. It comes from the sky, from a bleeding between the walls of the cylinder and the roof, and suggests solitude and spiritual freedom.

 

From a childhood in working-class neighborhoods to international recognition

Black and white photo of the Hyogo MuseumBorn on September 13, 1941, in a working-class district in Osaka, Tadao Ando would train himself in architecture through taking odd jobs and reading. He was particularly inspired by the work of Le Corbusier, whom he discovered while a professional boxer. His career in the ring earned him enough money to travel to Europe and the United StatesArriving in Europe in 1965, a few days after the death of Le Corbusier, Tadao Ando visited some of his works, in particular the Villa Savoye which at this time was in ruins.

 

Strictly speaking, Tadao Ando started his career as an architect strictly speaking in 1970, where he built his first housesin Osaka as the city entered a decade in which the population would surge. He swam against the current of functionalist constructions and repetitive plans.

Black and white photo of the Azuma house built by Tadao Ando When Ando designed the Azuma House, his goal was to protect its inhabitants from the hustle and bustle outside. This earned him the Japanese Architectural Association Prize in 1976. This house, with its visible concrete wall,would form the base of his most representative architectural technique. the most representative.

As his renown as an architect grew, Ando went on to receive numerous international awards, including the Alvar Aalto Medal for his contribution to architecture in 1985. In 1995 he earned the Pritzker Prize in the aftermath of the Kobe earthquake.  This natural disaster, which affected his native region, was particularly deadly because certain 1970s constructions had ignored the basic rules of architecture. Ando donated his prize money to the orphans of the stricken city.

Alongside his cultural works, Ando has been involved in numerous urban planning and architectural projects for rebuilding cities hit by the earthquake.

 

Find out more about Tadao Ando

  • Philip Jodidio, Ando, The Complete Works 1975-Today, ed. Taschen, 2011
  • Yann Nussaume, Tadao Andô, Arléa, 2014
  • Interview with Tadao Ando | Centre Pompidou
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yEeknEOQ2_o
  • Interview conducted by Frédéric Migayrou, for the “Tadao Ando. Le Défi” exhibition at the Pompidou Center 10/10/2018 to 12/31/2018.
  • Artist Talk: Tadao Ando
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cV0hiUcFFG8
  • Presentation by Tadao Ando of his work at the Art Institute of Chicago November 20, 2018.
    English language.


The Methods Studio team,
Only when you are satisfied is our job done

Photo of the Methods Studio team with all the group's associate architectsFollow us on LinkedIn
https://www.methods-studio.fr

Contact our architect-builders: contact@methods-studio.fr

Starchitect Tadao Ando, l’architecture spirituelle japonaise

Photo noire et blanc du musée préfectoral d'art de Hyogo de l'architecte Tadao Ando

Starchitect Tadao Ando, l’architecture spirituelle japonaise

Starchitect Tadao Ando, l’architecture spirituelle japonaise 1800 941 Methods Studio

Tadao Andō : « L’espace ne prend vie que lorsque les gens y pénètrent. Le rôle essentiel de l’architecture, le rôle de l’espace, au sein de l’architecture, consiste à favoriser une interaction entre les gens, (…) et surtout à stimuler la réflexion à l’intérieur des gens. »

Photo noire et blanc du musée préfectoral d'art de Hyogo de l'architecte Tadao AndoQuand on parle des principaux architectes contemporains, on parle souvent de stars dans le métier de l’architecture. Chacun a créé le long de sa carrière, sa philosophie, son coup de crayon, son identité. Tadao Andō est l’un d’entre eux, à la fois philosophe et architecte.

Tout au long de sa carrière il a créé des espaces où les hommes pouvaient se recentrer sur leurs émotions ou leurs idées. Ces projets, emplis de spiritualité, sont très souvent liées à la culture, la religion ou à des commandes privées de villas. Il restera, pour l’ensemble de son œuvre, une des références de l’architecture spirituelle de la fin du XXème siècle et du début du XXIème siècle.

 

Les Abris Spirituels de l’architecte Tadao Ando

Parmi les créations de Tadao Ando, nous pourrons noter que la religion au sens large du terme prend une place importante. Il a ains créé des espaces emplis de spiritualité qui pourront toucher de manière universelle toutes personnes entrant en leur sein.

 

Photo noire et blanc du temple sur l'eau Awaji par l'architecte Tadao AndoLe temple sur l’eau de Tadao Ando

Tadao Ando a réinventé la tradition de construction du temple Bouddhiste Japonais. Au bois traditionnel, il a préféré le béton que l’on peut retrouver dans bon nombre de ses œuvres. Ce changement peut paraître radical mais il permet de créer une succession d’espaces porté à la fois sur le symbolisme religieux et sur l’expérience sensorielle.

Dans l’une de ses oeuvres, au milieu d’une forêt de bambou, de champs de riz et de la montagne de l’île, apparaît le premier espace traversé du temple, une barrière de béton polie de trois mètres de haut qui protège l’entrée du temple. Une fois cette barrière passée, nous arrivons face au bassin de lotus, ce bassin, bordé de discrètes et fines bordure de béton a un symbolisme fort dans la religion Bouddhique. Il est en effet la représentation de la pureté de la foi en bouddha qui émerge de l’intérieur de la vie de personnes ordinaires et leur permet d’accéder au Nirvana.

Le chemin d’accès à la salle de prière passe à travers le centre du bassin par un escalier et emmène le visiteur ou le fidèle à la déambulation à travers l’architecture avant d’arriver sur un Bouddha submergé de lumière naturelle. 

 

Photo noire et blanc de l'église de la lumière d'Ibaraki par l'architecte Tadao Ando

L’Église de la Lumière à Osaka

Une autre oeuvre spirituelle de Tadao Ando : l’Église de la Lumière à Osaka, construite en 1988, a été conçue en remplacement de l’église en bois existante.

La conception a été limitée, par un budget minimal, à un bâtiment sans fioritures, juste l’essentiel, sol, mur, plafond et des ouvertures pour la lumière. L’ensemble se compose de deux volumes constitués de blocs rectangulaires de béton. L’église est composée d’un parallélépipède de 6m x 6m x 18m traversé par un mur en biais qui dynamise l’espace.

Le bâtiment a abandonné tout ornement au profit de la spiritualité venant de la lumière perçant à travers les ouvertures, notamment la plus emblématique venant de la croix dans le mur. Preuves restées sur place du budget minimaliste de la construction, les bancs ont été réalisés en morceaux d’échafaudage repeint en noir, ils soulignent par cela l’aspect austère et minimaliste de l’église.

 

Tadao Ando à Paris : l’espace de méditation de l’UNESCO

Photo en noir et blanc de l'espace de méditation à l'Unesco par Tadao AndoAu siège de l’UNESCO à Paris, conçu en 1995 pour les 50 ans de l’institution, Tadao Ando investit les lieux avec pour mission la création d’un espace de Méditation pour permettre à tous de prier pour la paix. Constitué d’un espace cylindrique de 6 m de diamètre et de haut, l’espace intérieur peut sembler au premier abord austère, les murs et le plafond, sont fait en béton brut. Mais comme dans l’église d’Osaka, la lumière vient habiter le lieu. Elle vient du ciel, d’une saignée entre les murs du cylindre et le toit, et suggère la solitude et la liberté spirituelle.

 

De l’enfance des quartiers populaire à la reconnaissance Internationale

Photo en noir et blanc du musée de HyogoNé le 13 septembre 1941 à Osaka, dans un quartier populaire de la ville, Tadao Ando se formera lui-même au métier de l’architecture par des petits métiers et grâce à la littérature. Inspiré notamment par le travail de Le Corbusier, il commencera en parallèle une carrière de boxeur professionnel qui lui permettra de récupérer assez d’argent pour voyager en Europe et aux Etats-Unis. Arrivé en Europe en 1965, quelque jours après la mort de Le Corbusier, Tadao Ando visitera quelques-unes de ses œuvres notamment la villa Savoye qui est à cette époque en ruine.

 

Tadao Ando commence sa carrière d’architecte à proprement parlé en 1970, où il construira ses premières résidences. Suite à la poussée démographie d’Osaka dans les années 1970. Il souhaitera aller à contre-courant des constructions fonctionnalistes et des plans répétitifs.

Photo en noir et blanc de la maison Azuma construite par Tadao Ando Cet architecte de renom créera la Maison Azuma, qui lui valut en 1976 le prix de l’association Japonaise d’architecture, dans l’esprit de protéger les habitants du tumulte extérieur. Cette maison composée de paroi à vue en béton, posera la base de sa technique architecturale la plus représentative.

Architecte en pleine expansion, il recevra de nombreuses reconnaissances internationales notamment en 1985 la Médaille Alvar Aalto pour sa contribution à l’architecture. Ou encore en 1995, le Prix Pritzker lui a été décerné à la suite du tremblement de terre de Kobe. Cette catastrophe naturelle qui toucha sa région natale fu particulièrement meurtrière à cause du mépris de certaines construction des années 1970 pour les règles de l’art. Il décida alors d’offrir la somme reçue par son prix aux orphelins de la ville sinistrée.

Tadao Ando travaillera en parallèle de ses ouvrages Culturels à de nombreux Travaux d’urbanisme et d’architecture pour la reconstruction des villes touchées par le tremblement de terre.

 

Pour Aller plus loin sur Tadao Ando

  • Philip Jodidio, Ando, L’œuvre complète 1975-Aujoud’hui, éd. Taschen, 2011
  • Yann Nussaume, Tadao Andô, pensées sur l’architecture et le paysage., éd Arléa, 2014
  • Entretien avec Tadao Ando | Centre Pompidou
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yEeknEOQ2_o
  • Entretien mené par Frédéric Migayrou, A l’occasion de l’exposition « Tadao Ando. Le Défi » du Centre Pompidou 10/10/2018 au 31/12/2018.
  • Artist Talk : Tadao Ando
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cV0hiUcFFG8
  • Présentation de Tadao Ando de son travail au Art Instiitute of Chicago 20 Novembre 2018.
    Langue Anglais.


L’équipe Methods Studio,
Notre réussite c’est votre satisfaction.

Photo de l'équipe de Methods Studio avec l'ensemble des architectes associés du groupeSuivez-nous sur LinkedIn
https://www.methods-studio.fr

Contactez nos architectes-constructeurs : contact@methods-studio.fr

Préférences de confidentialité

When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in the form of cookies. Here you can change your Privacy preferences. It is worth noting that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we are able to offer.

Click to enable/disable Google Analytics tracking code.

Click to enable/disable Google Fonts.

Click to enable/disable Google Maps.

Click to enable/disable video embeds.

Ce site internet met en place des cookies notamment ceux de services tierces comme Google analytics. Ces cookies sont présents pour nous permettrent de réaliser la mesure d'audience du site et vous donne accès à certains contenus. Vous pouvez paramétrer vos préférences en matière de confidentialité et/ou accepter l'utilisation des cookies lors de votre navigation sur ce site.