Insurance in construction with the participation of PASCAL BOUCLIER

Diagram of insurance in construction produced by Methods Studio Architecte

Insurance in construction with the participation of PASCAL BOUCLIER

Insurance in construction with the participation of PASCAL BOUCLIER 1800 941 Methods Studio

Since the start of construction, the responsibility of those involved in construction has been written into legal texts. One of the first codes of law which was published in -1 750 BC, the Code of Hammurabi already informs the responsibilities of an “architect”.
In 2019, all construction companies must have an insurance policy, but beware; it is your responsibility as a client to check them. You can call on the services of a Project Management team to help you with this.

Methods Studio architects and builders are committed to having and offering

 

Construction insurance takes several forms to provide maximum protection against damage that may occur during and after work on a new construction or a renovation project.

The purpose of these insurance policies is that they can simplify matters and ensure the owner has acceptable and decent cover.

The legal obligations regarding insurance are also there to simplify matters for companies by requiring them to put in place more efficient After-Sales Service systems.

As part of the "Turnkey" construction, whether for a new house, a renovation or an expansion project, our team of architects and builders Methods Studio architects and builders makes it his duty to have and to propose all the insurance necessary for the smooth running of works.  And we require all contractors working with us to offer insurance monitoring. 

Diagram of insurance in construction produced by Methods Studio Architecte

The duration of a project and related insurance

An outline of building work insurance

Note:

  • Company and damage insurance must be taken out at the start of works.
  • During the first year after Reception,the performance bond takes precedence over property damage insurance. Only failure by the company to intervene after formal notice has been served can trigger a property damage claim.

GPA: Perfect Completion Guarantee

TRC: All Site Risks.

 

What should you check on business insurance?

Before starting construction works, there are several steps to take. As seen in the diagram above, each step in the construction of a new house or a renovation is covered by its own insurance. It will therefore be necessary at each stage to ask your contractors about their insurance cover. In most cases they will provide you with proof of insurance.

Our team can give you some tips on deciphering these. First, you have to check that the policy has the correct name on it. It seems obvious but the policy must be in the Legal Name present on the company’s KBIS (the French corporation registry document). Then you need to check the year of the certificate. The certificate must be valid at the start of building work.
If the company is too new, you will need a nominative statement for your site provided by the latter's insurer.

After these first basic checks, you will have to check that the insurance on this certificate is indeed the correct one. It is not uncommon for companies to provide only Civil Liability and not the Ten-Year warranty However you also need the ten-year warranty insurance certificate. Do not hesitate to ask the insurer directly if in doubt!

Image illustration of actions of architectural firm build renovate and expandLastly, as the Customer, observe the types of work covered by the insurance. Indeed, all companies are covered for all types of work.But the policy certificate defines the types of work covered by the insurance. If you have any questions, please be aware that your prime contractor can help you check insurance.

As part of "Turnkey" works, Methods Studio architects and builders will make sure it obtains insurance confirmation for all contractors and works in collaboration with the structural damage insurance provider so that you do not have to worry about this.

 

What insurance cover does a company in France have to have?

  • Professional liability insurance (including operating liability)
    Taken out by all stakeholders such as the Project Manager, for example the architect or the design office, and contractors. This insurance protects the owners, that is to say you, the customer, in particular in the event of damage resulting from the work carried out and also in the event of damage caused during a visit to the home of the client.

 

  • Ten-year civil liability insurance

    This insurance covers any construction work for a period of 10 years following the acceptance of such works. It covers damage affecting the solidity of the structure and elements forming an integral part of it for 10 years and elements not forming an integral part of it for two years (Biennial Insurance)

    For example, a water leak in an embedded pipe occurs three years after you take possession of your house. You will make a claim under the 10-year warranty related to the building work. However, if a roller shutter breaks down after four years, it would come under the biennial warranty which has, by now, expired.

    Watch out for problems appearing within the first year. In this event, the construction company is liable for the damage under the Performance Bond which runs for one year after receipt of works.

 

Photo illustration of a Parisian entranceAs an individual do you also have to take out insurance?

When building work begins, the customer (i.e. you, the person instigating the whole construction project) must take out Structural Damage Insurance (DO in French).

This insurance is mandatory for any natural or legal person in the role of owner of the project, or that person’s seller or agent. (Article L242-1 of the Insurance Code).

It covers the same damages as the ten-year insurance for companies. This is a pre-financing insurance. For information, the insurer has 90 days to manage the claim via a single expert. This period begins to run on the day on which the claim is made to the insurer by registered letter with acknowledgment of receipt. In the absence of Structural Damage, the experts of each party will defend their interests and the management time can be very long, several months to several years.

This letter must contain: the contract number, the name and address of the owner, the date of receipt, and the description of the defect, its nature, location and importance.

 

Structural Damage and 10-year warranty insurance only run from the moment the work is delivered and accepted by you.This is why the “reception” is a crucial moment in a project.
Please note, any work outstanding after reception is called reservations. Reservations that have not been lifted, i.e. the work has not yet been carried out, are not covered by any warranty.

Furthermore, during the first year after receipt, all contractors are liable under The Perfect Completion Guarantee. In France, this bond is defined inArticle 1792-6 of the Civil Code.It covers damage that may occur during the year following receipt, aside from normal wear and tear of materials and their uses. The company is liable for this.

During construction work, the customer can take out additional insurance called Course of Construction insurance (All Risks)..  This insurance protects the entire site from the moment work begins until completion and reception of the building.
This insurance covers material damage that could occur during the duration of the work, in particular: fire, explosion, water damage, storms, natural phenomena, theft and vandalism (according to the conditions specific to each insurer) ... This insurance is not compulsory but protects the site and the owner from being short of funds when works resume after such an event.

 

And the Home Insurance taken out by the client in all of this?

For a new construction, an insurance policy must be taken out as soon as the construction is weatherproofed. To put it simply, this is when the roof and windows are installed in your house. 

For a renovation, home insurance must be obtained before the start of work. The existing construction must be covered by home insurance, and upon receipt of the work, the client must notify their home insurance company of the changes made to their property so the contract can be updated.

Certain damages related to improper use will not be covered by structural damage insurance but may be covered by home insurance. For example a bathtub which overflows because someone forgot to turn off the faucet.

 

In conclusion, if you are embarking on building work, do not hesitate to ask your architect firm for help in ensuring adequate home insurance.

All companies must be insured in the construction trades. You have to ask them for their insurance because even if everything goes well during the construction site and it is a trustworthy person, you do not know what the future holds!

It is also important to specify that insurance is not a guarantee of quality. Indeed, some companies have insurance and do not have the skills to carry out the work, and conversely, others have the skills but do not necessarily have up-to-date insurance.

As with all stages of construction, the Architect-Builder firm METHODS STUDIO offers you comprehensive support regarding insurance throughout your project. We can handle all the administrative management of our subcontractors to save you time and make things easier for you. (https://www.methods-studio.fr/construction-et-renovation-de-maison-a-paris/)

 

Logos of Methods Studio Architecture and the insurer co-author of the articleThis article was written with as main source the presentation made by Mr. Pascal Bouclier during the runner-up training on October 10, 2018. The entire METHODS STUDIO ARCHITECTORS team would like to thank Mr. Pascal Bouclier from the Bouclier insurance Insurance particularly for his involvement and follow-up with the company of Architectors.

 

The Methods Studio team

Only when you are satisfied is our job done

follow us on LinkedIn

https://www.methods-studio.fr

Contact our architect-builders: contact@methods-studio.fr

Photo of the Methods Studio team with all the group's associate architects

Les assurances dans la construction avec la participation de PASCAL BOUCLIER

Schéma des assurances dans la construction réalisé par Methods Studio Architecte

Les assurances dans la construction avec la participation de PASCAL BOUCLIER

Les assurances dans la construction avec la participation de PASCAL BOUCLIER 1800 941 Methods Studio

Depuis le début de la construction, la responsabilité des acteurs de la construction est écrite dans les textes de loi. Un des premiers codes de loi qui a été édité en -1 750 avant J-C, le Code d’Hammourabi renseigne déjà les responsabilités d’un « architecte ».
En 2019, toute entreprise de construction se doit d’avoir une police d’assurance, mais attention, il est de votre responsabilité en tant que client (Maître d’ouvrage) de les vérifier, pour cela vous pouvez vous entourer d’une équipe de Maîtrise d’œuvre.

METHODS STUDIO ARCHITECTEURS peut vous accompagner et vous conseiller dans ces vérifications.

 

Les assurances de la construction prennent plusieurs formes pour protéger au maximum des dégâts qui peuvent survenir pendant et après un chantier lors d’un projet de construction neuf ou de rénovation.

L’intérêt de ces assurances est la simplification qu’elles peuvent apporter et ne pas laisser le maître de l’ouvrage dans une situation inacceptable ou indécente.

Les obligations légales d’assurance sont également là pour simplifier le travail des entreprises en leur forçant à mettre en place des systèmes de Service Après-Vente plus efficace.

Dans le cadre de la construction « Clé en main », que ce soit pour une maison neuve, une rénovation ou encore un projet d’agrandissement, notre équipe d’architectes et constructeurs METHODS STUDIO ARCHITECTEURS se fait le devoir d’avoir et de proposer toutes les assurances nécessaires au bon déroulement du chantier.  Et nous, nous imposons un suivi d’assurance à l’ensemble des artisans et entreprises travaillant avec nous.

Schéma des assurances dans la construction réalisé par Methods Studio Architecte

Vie d’un projet et les assurances liées

Schéma des assurances dans la construction

Nota :

  • Les assurances des entreprises et Dommages Ouvrages doivent être obtenues au démarrage des travaux.
  • Pendant la première année après Réception, la garantie de parfait achèvement prime sur l’assurance dommages ouvrage, seul un défaut d’intervention de l’entreprise après mise en demeure peut enclencher le process de la dommages ouvrage.

GPA : Garantie de Parfait Achèvement

TRC : Tous Risques Chantier.

 

Que faut-il vérifier sur l’assurance d’une entreprise ?

Avant de commencer la construction, il y a plusieurs étapes. Comme vu dans le schéma ci-dessus, chaque étape de la construction d’une maison neuve ou d’une rénovation a une assurance liée. Il faudra donc demander à chaque étape les assurances de vos interlocuteurs. Dans la plupart des cas ils vous fourniront une attestation d’assurance.

Notre équipe vous donnent quelques clés pour les décoder. D’abord il faut bien vérifier que l’attestation est au bon nom. Ça semble évident mais l’attestation doit être avec la Dénomination légale présente sur le KBIS (document du greffe) de la société. Ensuite il faut vérifier l’année de l’attestation. Il faut que l’attestation soit valable au démarrage du chantier.
Si l’entreprise est trop jeune, il faut une attestation nominative pour votre chantier fournie par l’assureur de ce dernier.

Après, ces premières vérifications de bases, il vous faudra vérifier que l’assurance de cette attestation est bien la bonne. Il n’est pas rare que les entreprises ne fournissent que la Responsabilité Civile et non la Décennale. Cependant il vous faut bien aussi l’attestation d’assurance décennale. N’hésitez pas à demander directement à l’assureur en cas de doute !

Image illustration des actions du cabinet d'architectes construire rénover et agrandirEn dernier lieu vous devrez, en tant que Maître d’ouvrage, observer les types de travaux couverts par l’assurance. En effet, toutes les entreprises ne sont pas couvertes pour tous les types de travaux.Mais l’attestation définit les types de travaux couverts par l’assurance. Si vous avez des questions, sachez que votre maître d’œuvre peut vous aider à vérifier les assurances.

Dans le cadre de travaux « Clé en Main », METHODS STUDIO ARCHITECTEURS s’occupe d’obtenir l’ensemble des assurances des entreprises et travaille en collaboration avec votre assurance Dommage Ouvrage pour que vous n’ayez pas à vous préoccuper de cela.

 

Quelles sont les assurances obligatoires pour une entreprise en France ?

  • L’assurance Responsabilité civile professionnelle (y compris responsabilité civile exploitation)
    Souscrite par l’ensemble des intervenants tels que le Maître d’œuvre, par exemple l’architecte ou le bureau d’étude, et les entreprises, cette assurance protège les maîtres d’ouvrage, c’est-à-dire vous client, notamment lors de dommages consécutifs aux travaux réalisés et également lors de dommages occasionnés pendant une visite au domicile du maître d’ouvrage.

 

  • L’assurance Responsabilité civile décennale

    Cette assurance couvre les biens construits pendant 10 ans à la suite de la réception des travaux. Elle couvre les dommages affectant la solidité de l’ouvrage et les éléments d’équipements indissociables pendant 10 ans et les éléments d’équipements dissociables pendant 2 ans. (Assurance Biennale)

    Par exemple, une fuite d’eau sur une canalisation encastrée a lieu au bout de trois ans. Vous devrez solliciter l’assurance Décennale liée aux travaux. Cependant si un volet roulant tombe en panne au bout de 4 ans, il n’est plus sous garantie Biennale.

    Attention si les désordres apparaissent avant la fin de la première année, c’est l’entreprise de construction qui doit réintervenir pour reprendre les dégâts. C’est la période de Garantie de parfait achèvement d’une durée d’un an après réception.

 

Photo illustration d'une entrée parisienneEn tant que particulier vous devez également souscrire des assurances ?

Au démarrage du chantier, le maître de l’ouvrage (c’est-à-dire vous client en cours de réalisation de votre projet de construction) se doit de souscrire une Assurance Dommages Ouvrage (DO).

Cette assurance est obligatoire pour toute personne physique ou morale qui agit en qualité de propriétaire de l’ouvrage, de vendeur ou de mandataire du propriétaire de l’ouvrage faisant réaliser des travaux de construction. (Article L242-1 du Code des Assurances).

Elle couvre les mêmes dommages que l’assurance décennale pour les entreprises.  Il s’agit d’une assurance de préfinancement. Pour information, l’assureur a un délai de 90 jours pour gérer le sinistre via un expert unique. Ce délai commence à courir le jour où la déclaration de sinistre est réalisée auprès de l’assureur par lettre recommandée avec accusé de réception. En l’absence de Dommages Ouvrage, les experts de chaque partie vont défendre leurs intérêts et le temps de gestion peut être très long, de plusieurs mois à plusieurs années.

Cette lettre doit contenir : le numéro de contrat, le nom et adresse du propriétaire, la date de réception, et la description du défaut, sa nature, sa localisation et son importance.

 

Les Assurances Dommages Ouvrage et Assurance Décennale ne courent qu’à partir de la Réception des travaux. C’est pour cela que la réception est un point crucial du chantier.
Attention, dans le cas où il reste des travaux à effectuer après réception, cela s’appelle des réserves. Les réserves qui ne sont pas levées, c’est-à-dire que les travaux n’ont pas encore été effectués, ne bénéficient d’aucune garantie.

De plus, il existe lors de la première année après réception une garantie contractuelle de toute entreprise, La Garantie de Parfait Achèvement. Cette Garantie est définie dans l’Article 1792-6 du Code civil. Elle couvre dans le cadre d’une usure normale des matériaux et leurs usages, les dommages qui peuvent survenir au cours de l’année suivant la réception. Elle est due par l’entreprise.

Pendant le chantier, le maître d’ouvrage peut prendre une assurance complémentaire s’appelant la Tous Risques Chantier.  Cette assurance protège l’ensemble du chantier de l’ouverture du chantier jusqu’à la réception des travaux de l’ouvrage.
Cette assurance couvre les dommages matériels qui pourraient survenir pendant la durée des travaux, notamment : incendie, explosion, dégâts des eaux, tempêtes, phénomènes naturels, vol et vandalisme (selon conditions propres à chaque assureur)… Cette assurance n’est pas obligatoire mais permet de protéger le chantier et le maître d’ouvrage de toute défaillance liée au montant nécessaire aux reprises des ouvrages.

 

Et l’Assurance Habitation souscrite par le maître d’ouvrage dans tout ça ?

Pour une construction neuve, ce contrat d’assurance est à souscrire dès que la construction est hors d’eau, hors d’air. Pour simplifier grossièrement il s’agit du moment où vous avez le toit et les fenêtres posées dans votre maison.

Pour une rénovation, l’assurance habitation doit être obtenue avant le début des travaux. La construction existante doit être couverte par une assurance habitation, et dès la réception des travaux, le maître d’ouvrage se doit de prévenir son Assurance Habitation des modifications effectuées sur son bien pour une mise à jour de son contrat.

Certains dommages liés à une mauvaise utilisation ne seront pas pris en charge par l’assurance dommages ouvrage mais peuvent être couverts par l’assurance habitation. Par exemple une baignoire qui déborde suite à une mauvaise manipulation.

 

En conclusion, si vous faîtes des travaux n’hésitez pas à demander de l’aide à votre cabinet d’architecte pour le suivi des assurances de votre logement.

Toutes les entreprises se doivent d’être assurées dans les métiers de la construction. Il faut leur demander leurs assurances car même si tout se passe bien pendant le chantier et qu’il s’agit d’une personne de confiance, vous ne savez pas de quoi est fait le futur !

Il est important également de spécifier que l’assurance n’est pas un gage de qualité. En effet, certaines entreprises ont des assurances et n’ont pas les compétences pour réaliser les travaux, et à l’inverse, d’autres ont la compétence mais n’ont pas forcément des assurances mises à jour.

Comme pour toutes les étapes de la Construction, le cabinet d’Architecte-Ingénieur METHODS STUDIO ARCHITECTEURS vous propose un accompagnement global sur la question de l’assurance pendant votre chantier. Nous nous occupons de toute la gestion administrative de nos sous-traitant pour vous faire gagner du temps et vous simplifier. (https://www.methods-studio.fr/construction-et-renovation-de-maison-a-paris/)

 

Logos de Methods Studio Architecture et l'assureur co-auteur de l'articleCet article a été écrit avec comme source principale la présentation faite par M. Pascal Bouclier lors de la formation dauphine du 10 octobre 2018. L’ensemble de l’Equipe de METHODS STUDIO ARCHITECTEURS tiens à remercier M. Pascal Bouclier de l’assurance Bouclier Assurance particulièrement pour son implication et son suivi avec la compagnie des Architecteurs.

 

L’équipe Methods Studio

Notre réussite c’est votre satisfaction.

Suivez-nous sur LinkedIn

https://www.methods-studio.fr

Contactez nos architectes-constructeurs : contact@methods-studio.fr

Photo de l'équipe de Methods Studio avec l'ensemble des architectes associés du groupe

 

Préférences de confidentialité

When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in the form of cookies. Here you can change your Privacy preferences. It is worth noting that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we are able to offer.

Click to enable/disable Google Analytics tracking code.

Click to enable/disable Google Fonts.

Click to enable/disable Google Maps.

Click to enable/disable video embeds.

Ce site internet met en place des cookies notamment ceux de services tierces comme Google analytics. Ces cookies sont présents pour nous permettrent de réaliser la mesure d'audience du site et vous donne accès à certains contenus. Vous pouvez paramétrer vos préférences en matière de confidentialité et/ou accepter l'utilisation des cookies lors de votre navigation sur ce site.