Andrea Palladio, an architectural journey in northern Italy

Villa in black and white Rotonda d & #039; Andrea Palladio

Andrea Palladio, an architectural journey in northern Italy

Andrea Palladio, an architectural journey in northern Italy 1800 941 Methods Studio

Villa in black and white Rotonda by Andrea PalladioAndrea Palladio : "Beauty is the harmony of all the parts in whatever form it appears, by virtue of a proportion and a correspondence such that nothing can be added, taken away or modified without suffering the whole. . " 

Considered one of the greatest architects in the history of Western art, Andrea Di Pietro Della Gondola, aka Palladio, had a major impact on construction and design across Europe. 

Let us travel through 16th century Veneto, in the footsteps of this defender of general harmony.

General harmony, Palladio's crusade

Admire Palladio's achievementsis already traveling in the north ofItaly. His style has deeply marked the region of Venice. Architectural theorist, he listed his work in the treaty Quattro Libri dell Architettura (The four books of architecture).

How can we define the Palladian style, or Palladianism? In a few words, it is a blend of Renaissance, Roman, and Greek art. Great importance is placed on symmetry, perspectives and general harmony. The beauty of Palladian architecture is that it can be read on many levels. The first glance clearly indicates the Greco-Roman origin of the buildings: classic temple facades in white marble, or a colonnade housing a loggia for instance. These classic features were added to what was then considered a modern house.

Although the two styles are very different, they balance each other through symmetry, proportions, and perspectives, and give the whole that general harmony particular to the Palladian style.

Architectural view of Palladio's building

When the Roman Empire fell during the Barbarian invasions, Veneto served as a refuge for those who would later be the Venetians. History tells us of the Sack of Rome in 1527 by Imperial troops, and the dismantling of the heritage and history of Rome. Palladio began working in 1530, and made it his vocation to defend the Roman civilization and ensure its classical architecture would last.

He made no less than five visits to the sites of the ruins of ancient Rome between 1541 and 1554. It is this knowledge of the ancient ruins of temples, his study of ancient texts, and his ability to adapt to the needs of his landowner clients that made Palladio an essential architect of the time, despite the small number of his achievements.

Palladio’s finest achievements

A number of his works have been protected at Unesco World Heritage. We can classify the achievements of Palladio in three main categories:

  • The Villas, or "country houses" of the rich landowners of Veneto
  • The Palaces of these same great families in the towns of the region
  • Religious buildings in Venice

Villa Pisani (1544) in Bagnolo

One of the first projects of young architect Palladio. Villa Pisani was to symbolize the success of the Pisani family, an ennobled family which owes its success to the successful exploitation of its land.

Villa Pisani, designed as a Villa-Farm, faces the Guà river. The goal of the construction is simple, but complex to achieve. Palladio must create A country house sufficiently refined for the Pisani family, but offering a simple and pragmatic solution to the farming problems of the farm. The building must house all the outbuildings, in order to move away from the classic and erratic structure of the farms of the time.

Palladio's response: a grandiose facade of Greco-Roman inspiration, and an elevated villa to house the agricultural outbuildings in the basements.

The villa has been registered as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1994.

Villa Pisani by Andrea Palladio

Villa Rotonda (1566) in Vicenza

Villa Rotonda is arguably Palladio's most famous villa. Originally commissioned by Paolo Almerico, a Vatican clergyman on his retirement, the villa is designed in the shape of a Greek cross, (cross whose branches are identical in length), organized around a hemispherical dome provided with an occulus, like the pantheon in Rome.

Located on top of a hill, Palladio wanted to give the owner a magnificent view from every facade of the villa. This is why, and in a desire for global harmony, Palladio created four Greco-Roman facades on each side of the house. Each facade therefore has its loggia, from where you can admire the view of the surrounding countryside.

On the other hand, the decoration is different on each facade. The overall harmony, but the art in the detail. Visible from all the surrounding countryside, the villa gives the impression of dominating the entire region with its power and presence.
Unfortunately, the owner died before the construction was completed, and the house was sold as is to the Capra family who completed the construction with another architect.

The villa has been registered as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1994. Interesting point, the garden which when you turn around the villa. The symmetry of the house responds to the asymmetry of its garden which allows to have from each facade a different point of view.

villa rotonda by Andrea Palladio

The Palazzo Chiericati (1550) in Vicenza

The Palazzo Chiericati was intended for Count Girolamo Chiericati who wanted to be able to enjoy the innovations of the Palladian Basilica in Vicenza on its own behalf.

The white marble facades, the colonnades, the roof line adorned with statues perched on a pedestal are all attributes desired to show the power of the count. The ceilings of the loggias and the interiors are richly decorated and painted.

The count died in 1557, before the delivery of the palace and construction stopped. The count's son continued for a few interior fittings, but the palace remained unfinished for nearly a century since the palace was completed in 1680.
The Chiericati family parted ways in the 19th century to the city of Vicense, which transformed it in the gallery in 1855.

The palace, classified by UNESCO, is still today the art gallery of the city of Vicense.

Photo chiericati building by Palladio

The Basilica of San Giorgio Maggiore in Venice

The Basilica of San Giorgio Maggiore, in Venice, will be the apotheosis of Palladio's career. Begun in 1566, Palladio will unfortunately never see it completed, since its construction ended in 1610, thirty years after his death.

The basilica has a white marble facade in the Greco-Roman style, facing Saint Mark's Square. The facade has symmetry and perfect harmony. The white marble, when illuminated by the rays of the sun, is reflected in the water of the lagoon and reinforces this idea of symmetry.

Inside, the nave is also white and bright, reminiscent of the Roman baths. Palladio was ordered to create a church in Gothic form (traditional cross). He succeeds in masking this form thanks to perspective games and this facade that catches the eye.

Basilica of San Giorgio Maggiore

Palladio will have had a local career and a limited number of projects, but will still have marked his passage leaving a unique and still recognized legacy almost five centuries later. His work will have inspired other architects, especially in the United States where some architects claim to be Palladian. There are also many Palladian-inspired buildings such as the Capitol in Washington DC.

Andrea Palladio, a local career, a worldwide impact.

 

To go further on Andrea Palladio

 

Black and white image of an architect's planThe Methods Studio team
Only when you are satisfied is our job done

follow us on LinkedIn
https://www.methods-studio.fr
Contact our architect-builders: contact@methods-studio.fr

Andrea Palladio, Voyage architectural dans le nord de l’Italie

Villa en noir et blanc Rotonda d'Andrea Palladio

Andrea Palladio, Voyage architectural dans le nord de l’Italie

Andrea Palladio, Voyage architectural dans le nord de l’Italie 1800 941 Methods Studio

Villa en noir et blanc Rotonda d'Andrea PalladioAndrea Palladio : « La beauté est l’harmonie de toutes les parties sous quelque forme qu’elle apparaisse, en vertu d’une proportion et d’une correspondance telles que rien ne puisse être ajouté, retranché ou modifié sans qu’en souffre l’ensemble. » 

Considéré comme l’un des plus grands architectes de l’histoire de l’art occidental, Andrea Di Pietro della Gondola, dit Palladio, a eu un impact majeur sur la construction et la conception dans toute l’Europe. 

Voyage dans la Vénétie du XVIème siècle sur les traces de ce défenseur de l’harmonie générale.

L’harmonie générale, fer de lance de Palladio

Admirer les réalisations de Palladio, c’est déjà être en voyage dans le nord de l’Italie. Son style a profondément marqué la région de Venise. Théoricien architectural, il a répertorié son travail dans le traité Quattro Libri dell Architettura (Les quatre livres de l’architecture).

Comment définir le style Palladien, ou Palladianisme ? En quelques mots, c’est le mélange d’Art de la Renaissance, de romain et de grec. Une grande importance est donnée à la symétrie, aux perspectives et à l’harmonie générale. La beauté de l’architecture Palladienne est qu’elle se lit à plusieurs niveaux. Le premier coup d’œil donne clairement une origine gréco-romaine aux édifices : façades de temple classique en marbre blanc, colonnade abritant une loggia… Ces traits classiques sont adossés à une maison moderne pour l’époque.

Les deux styles, bien que très différents, s’équilibrent au travers de symétrie, proportions et perspectives, et donnent à l’ensemble une harmonie générale, particulière au style Palladien.

Vue architectural construction de Palladio

À la chute de l’empire Romain lors des invasions barbares, la Vénétie a servi de refuge à ceux qui seront par la suite les Vénitiens. L’histoire nous rapporte en 1527 un pillage de la Rome moderne par les troupes impériales, et un démantèlement du patrimoine et de l’histoire de Rome. Palladio commence à travailler en 1530, et prend pour sacerdoce de défendre la civilisation romaine et faire perdurer l’architecture classique.

Il n’effectuera pas moins de cinq visites sur les sites des ruines de la Rome antique entre 1541 et 1554. C’est cette connaissance des ruines antiques de temples, son étude des textes anciens et sa capacité à s’adapter aux besoins de ses clients propriétaires terriens qui ont fait de Palladio un architecte incontournable de l’époque, malgré le faible nombre de ses réalisations.

Les plus belles réalisations de Palladio

Un certain nombre de ses réalisations ont été protégées au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. On peut classifier les réalisations de Palladio en trois grandes catégories :

  • Les Villas, ou « maisons de campagne » des riches propriétaires terriens de Vénétie
  • Les Palais de ces mêmes grandes familles dans les villes de la région
  • Les édifices religieux à Venise

La Villa Pisani (1544) à Bagnolo

L’un des premiers projets du jeune architecte Palladio. La Villa Pisani devait symboliser la réussite de la famille Pisani, famille anoblie qui doit sa réussite au succès de l’exploitation de ses terres.

La villa Pisani, pensée comme une Villa-Ferme, fait face au fleuve Guà. L’objectif de la construction est simple, mais complexe à réaliser. Palladio doit créer une maison de campagne suffisamment raffinée pour la famille Pisani, mais offrant une solution simple et pragmatique aux problématiques d’exploitation agricole de l’exploitation. L’édifice doit abriter toutes les dépendances, afin de s’éloigner de la structure classique et erratique des fermes de l’époque.

La réponse de Palladio : une façade grandiose d’inspiration gréco-romaine, et une villa surélevée pour abriter dans les soubassements les dépendances agricoles.

La villa est enregistrée au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 1994.

Villa Pisani de Andrea Palladio

La Villa Rotonda (1566) à Vicence

La Villa Rotonda est sans doute la villa la plus connue de Palladio. Commandée initialement par Paolo Almerico, un ecclésiastique du Vatican pour sa retraite, la villa est pensée en forme de croix grecque, (croix dont les branches sont identiques en longueur), organisée autour d’une coupole hémisphérique pourvue d’un occulus, comme le panthéon à Rome.

Située au sommet d’une colline, Palladio a voulu donner au propriétaire une magnifique vue depuis chaque façade de la villa. C’est pourquoi, et dans une volonté d’harmonie globale, Palladio a créé quatre façades greco-romaines sur chacun des côtés de la maison. Chaque façade possède donc sa loggia, d’où l’on peut admirer la vue sur la campagne environnante.

La décoration est par contre différente sur chaque façade. L’harmonie globale, mais l’art dans le détail. Visible depuis toute la campagne environnante, la villa donne l’impression de dominer toute la région par sa puissance et sa présence.
Malheureusement, le propriétaire décéda avant l’achèvement de la construction, et la maison fut vendue en l’état à la famille Capra qui termina la construction avec un autre architecte.

La villa est enregistrée au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 1994. Point intéressant, le jardin qui lorsqu’on tourne autour de la villa. À la symétrie de la maison répond l’asymétrie de son jardin qui permet d’avoir depuis chaque façade un point de vue différent.

villa rotonda de Andrea Palladio

Le Palazzo Chiericati (1550) à Vicence

Le Palazzo Chiericati était destiné au comte Girolamo Chiericati qui désirait pouvoir profiter des innovations de la basilique palladienne de Vicence pour son propre compte.

Les façades en marbre blanc, les colonnades, la ligne de toit ornée de statues juchées sur un piédestal sont autant d’attributs voulus pour montrer la puissance du comte. Les plafonds des loggias et les intérieurs sont richement décorés et peints.

Le comte mourut en 1557, avant la livraison du palais et la construction d’arrêta. Le fils du comte continua quelques aménagements intérieurs, mais le palais resta inachevé pendant près d’un siècle puisque le palais fut terminé en 1680.
La famille Chiericati s’en sépara au 19ème siècle à la ville de Vicense, qui le transforma en pinacothèque en 1855.

Le palais, classé à l’UNESCO, est toujours aujourd’hui la pinacothèque de la ville de Vicense.

Photo bâtiment chiericati de Palladio

La basilique San Giorgio Maggiore à Venise

La basilique de San Giorgio Maggiore, à Venise, sera l’apothéose de la carrière de Palladio. Commencée en 1566, Palladio ne la verra malheureusement jamais achevée, puisque sa construction se termina en 1610, trente ans après sa mort.

La basilique présente une façade de marbre blanc dans le style gréco-romain, tournée vers la place Saint Marc. La façade possède une symétrie et une harmonie parfaite. Le marbre blanc, lorsqu’éclairé par les rayons du soleil, se reflète dans l’eau de la lagune et renforce cette idée de symétrie.

À l’intérieur, la nef est elle aussi blanche et lumineuse, souhaitant rappeler les thermes romains. Palladio reçut l’ordre de créer une église de forme gothique (croix traditionnelle). Il réussit à masquer cette forme grâce à des jeux de perspective et cette façade qui retient le regard.

Basilique San Giorgio Maggiore

Palladio aura eu une carrière locale et un nombre de projets limités, mais aura tout de même marqué son passage en laissant un héritage unique et toujours reconnu presque cinq siècles plus tard. Son œuvre aura inspiré d’autres architectes, notamment aux États-Unis où certains architectes se revendiquent du Palladianisme. On y retrouve d’ailleurs de nombreux édifices d’inspiration palladienne comme le Capitole à Washington D.C.

Andrea Palladio, une carrière locale, un retentissement mondial.

 

Pour aller plus loin sur Andrea Palladio

 

Image en noir et blanc d'un plan d'architecteL’équipe Methods Studio
Notre réussite c’est votre satisfaction.

Suivez-nous sur LinkedIn
https://www.methods-studio.fr
Contactez nos architectes-constructeurs : contact@methods-studio.fr

Préférences de confidentialité

When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in the form of cookies. Here you can change your Privacy preferences. It is worth noting that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we are able to offer.

Click to enable/disable Google Analytics tracking code.

Click to enable/disable Google Fonts.

Click to enable/disable Google Maps.

Click to enable/disable video embeds.

Ce site internet met en place des cookies notamment ceux de services tierces comme Google analytics. Ces cookies sont présents pour nous permettrent de réaliser la mesure d'audience du site et vous donne accès à certains contenus. Vous pouvez paramétrer vos préférences en matière de confidentialité et/ou accepter l'utilisation des cookies lors de votre navigation sur ce site.