Frank Gehry, a winding journey to the four corners of the world

Museum of Pop Culture article Starchitect Frank Gehry

Frank Gehry, a winding journey to the four corners of the world

Frank Gehry, a winding journey to the four corners of the world 1800 941 Methods Studio

Museum of Pop Culture article Starchitect Frank GehryFrank Gehry : “I was a committed progressive and I loved art, and these two facts together made me an architect.” 

One of the greatest contemporary architects, Frank Gehry is an architect-sculptor. His own, instantly recognizable style transforms each of his creations into a unique architectural work.

From Bilbao to Los Angeles, travel to the four corners of the world in the wake of the master of deconstructivism and post-structuralism with the Methods Studio Architects team.

 

Who is Frank Gehry, this defender of deconstructivism?

Frank Gehry grew up in Toronto, Canada, in a modest family, and was always very sensitive to art. At school he was a shy, average student, however he began to nurture his artistic side by devoting himself to reading and music.

In 1947, he moved at 18 with his parents to Los Angeles, where he continued to do odd jobs to survive. Two years later, he integrates University of Southern California and spring architecture graduate in 1954. He worked in numerous agencies in Los Angeles then in Paris, where he discovered European culture. It is a real culture shock for him, who recognizes himself in the respectful dimension of European architecture, which he opposes to " Californian architecture ”without respect for the environment.

Gehry wanted to work his ideas of social responsibility into architecture. But these ideas weren’t in line the trends of the time and did not go down well with the firms employing him. In 1962, he set up his on his own. His agency in Los Angeles was different from the others since he was the first to fully understand both the architecture and the construction of the buildings he designed.

His works are in the deconstructivism style, which means the style of the building is dissociated from its function.

This gave Gehry complete freedom to create buildings with shapes never seen before. He draws his inspiration from his artistic sensitivity, a fact that comes through in his works, which are all movement and emotion. Gehry has often said in interviews that his aim is to bring color to cities that are often very cold, flat and modern.

We are now taking you on a trip around the world, to meet the major but also lesser-known works of Frank Gehry, “the twisted architect”.

 

Frank Gehry's finest achievements

We begin our world tour in America with some of his major works.

The Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles (2003)Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles

Inaugurated in 2003, it houses Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra. It owes its name to the $ 100 million funding offered by the Walt Disney family, to pursue his last will to support art. The 2000-seat auditorium was designed by Frank Gehry and Minoru Nagata, renowned acoustician. Together, they have raised acoustics and architecture to the same level, to create a room where the spectator has the impression of being one with the artists, both acoustically and visually.

Large volumes, the use of wood and metal, huge windows and fluid lines; this building brings together all Gehry’s main inspirations and is one of his finest works.

 

Museum of Pop Culture in Seattle by Frank GehryThe Museum of Pop Culture in Seattle (2004)

MoPOP, Museum of POP culture, is an interactive museum, dedicated to Rock'n'Roll, then extended in 2004 to science fiction. Frank Gehry drew his inspiration in an electric guitar, which he broke down into several pieces. It's a tribute to Jimi Hendrix, who destroyed his electric guitar on stage during his concerts.

Some 4,000 stainless steel and aluminum panels make up the skin of the building. Each plate is unique and individually cut. The gold and silver colors are obtained by soaking the panels in electrically-charged acid baths. The aluminum is painted red and blue.

 

 

The Marqués de Riscal Hotel in Spain (2006)Hotel Marqués de Riscal by Frank Gehry

The Marqués de Riscal Hotel, financed by the Spanish winemakers of the same name, aims to create a set of leisure activities around the brand. The building houses a luxury hotel and two restaurants, one of which has a Michelin star. Frank Gehry created a sandstone building with a titanium roof. He used three colors: pink, to represent wine; gold, characteristic of the Marqués de Riscal bottles; and silver, representing bottle caps.

 

 

Louis Vuitton Foundation The Louis Vuitton Foundation in Paris (2014) (2014)

Installed at heart of the Jardin d'Acclimatation in Paris, the Louis Vuitton Foundation has been designed to best fit into the heart of this natural environment. Frank Gehry draws his inspiration in the glass structures of the Big palace. He creates twelve sails of translucent glass, as if inflated by the wind to create movement. Glass structures wrap around the iceberg, a structure made of 19,000 different white concrete panels to create an earthquake pattern. Tree-lined terraces and a lake finish integrating this glass, wood and steel boat into its environment.

 

 

The Guggenheim foundations, in Bilbao (1997) and Abu-Dhabi (2022)Musée Guggenheim à Bilbao

Guggenheim Foundation in Bilbao is probably Frank Gehry's most famous building. Its unique shape, assembling stone, glass and titanium, very quickly made the city of Bilbao and Frank Gehry world famous. This building has fully contributed to developing the tourist attraction of the city, which has led to a real development of the city's infrastructure in general. The impact of opening the foundation Guggenheim by Frank Gehry in Bilbao was such, which the researchers baptized " Bilbao effect " the impact on a city of the opening of a major cultural site.
The Guggenheim Foundation continues its confidence in Frank Gehry, by ordering the creation of the new foundation in Abu-Dhabi in 2022. Since 1995, Frank Gehry has created in collaboration with Dassault system (CATIA software) a architecture software which allows him to design and carry out his projects: Digital Project.

 

Frank Gehry's Opus building in Hong KongThe Opus building in Hong Kong (2012) (2012)

The building Opus in Hong-Kong is simply the most expensive apartment building in Asia. Completed in 2012 and installed on Victoria Peak in Hong Kong, the apartments are spacious and benefit from a magnificent view of Hong-Kong bay. Frank Gehry took his inspiration from the emblem of Hong Kong, the Bauhinia flower. The result is a magnificent building, all parallel but without verticals. The facades are based on inclined posts, made to recall the bamboos, very present in Hong Kong. The building was designed to be efficient from an environmental point of view, favoring natural ventilation and lighting solutions, and technical choices that respect the environment. The building's electricity consumption is thus reduced by 31% compared to the average for buildings with the same surface area.

 

The Dancing House in Prague (1996)Frank Gehry's Dancing House in Prague

The dancing house in Prague is a office building built on a plot razed by the bombings of the second world war. In 1989, after the
Velvet revolution in the Czech Republic, the then president commissioned a building from the Czech architect Vlado Milunić, which must symbolize the dancing tomorrows that followed the Velvet Revolution. The project consists of two parties in dialogue, one static (the past) and the other dynamic (the present and future). The project ends up failing and the land is bought by the ING group to build an office building. The group decides to keep Vlado Milunić as as project architect, provided that he is accompanied by an architect of international renown. Jean Nouvel refuses the offer, Frank Gehry accepts it. The two architects working truly together, Frank Gehry brings his dynamic style, Vlado Milunić sa local touch and his knowledge of the project. This results in one building at a time modern and respecting the architectural codes from the city. A very beautiful collaboration between two architects, the style Frank Gehry and the pragmatism of Vlado Milunić.

During his career, Frank Gehry has shared his style with the world and created his very own signature. Each of his creations is unique, but just one glance and you know he is the architect. A Frank Gehry building is guaranteed to bring world fame to the city in which it is built, and guaranteed to leave its mark on the world in a way that will leave no one indifferent.

 

Find out more about Frank Gehry

Article signature Frank Gehry

The Methods Studio team

Only when you are satisfied is our job done

follow us on LinkedIn

https://www.methods-studio.fr

Contact our architect-builders: contact@methods-studio.fr

Frank Gehry, voyage tordu aux quatre coins du monde

Museum of Pop Culture article Starchitect Frank Gehry

Frank Gehry, voyage tordu aux quatre coins du monde

Frank Gehry, voyage tordu aux quatre coins du monde 1800 941 Methods Studio

Museum of Pop Culture article Starchitect Frank GehryFrank Gehry : « J’étais un progressiste engagé et j’aimais l’art, et ces deux faits réunis ont fait de moi un architecte. » 

L’un des plus grands architectes contemporains. Frank Gehry, c’est un architecte sculpteur. Un style unique, reconnaissable immédiatement, qui transforme instantanément chacune de ses créations en œuvre architecturale unique.

De Bilbao à Los Angeles, voyage aux quatre coins du monde sur la route du maître du déconstructivisme et du post-structuralisme par l’équipe Methods Studio Architecteurs.

 

Qui est Frank Gehry, ce défenseur du déconstructivisme

Frank Gehry grandit à Toronto au Canada, dans une famille modeste mais ayant une sensibilité particulière pour l’art. Timide et élève moyen à l’école, il commence cependant à nourrir sa fibre artistique en s’adonnant à la lecture et la musique.

En 1947, il déménage à 18 ans avec ses parents à Los Angeles, où il continuera d’enchainer les petits boulots pour survivre. Deux ans plus tard, il intègre l’université de Californie du Sud et ressort diplômé d’architecture en 1954. Il travaille dans de nombreuses agences à Los Angeles puis à Paris, où il découvre la culture européenne. C’est un véritable choc culturel pour lui, qui se reconnait dans la dimension respectueuse de l’architecture européenne, qu’il oppose à « l’architecture californienne » sans respect pour l’environnement.

Frank Gehry veut alors imposer ses idées d’architecture socialement responsable. Mais ces idées, en rupture avec les tendances du moment, ne conviennent pas aux agences pour lesquelles il travaille. Il crée alors en 1962 sa propre agence à Los Angeles, d’un genre nouveau puisqu’il est le premier à maitriser l’architecture et la construction des bâtiments qu’il dessine.

Ses œuvres sont dans le style du déconstructivisme, c’est-à-dire que le style du bâtiment est dissocié de sa fonction.

Ceci laisse à Frank Gehry une totale liberté pour créer des bâtiments aux formes jamais vues auparavant. Il puise son inspiration dans sa sensibilité artistique, qui se retrouve dans ses œuvres, toutes empreintes de mouvement et d’émotion. Frank Gehry le dit lui-même régulièrement en interview, il vise à donner de la couleur à des villes souvent très froides, plates et modernes.

Nous vous embarquons maintenant pour un tour du monde, à la rencontre des œuvres majeures mais aussi moins connues de Frank Gehry, « l’architecte tordu ».

 

Les plus belles réalisations de Frank Gehry

Début de notre tour du monde en Amérique, avec quelques-unes de ses œuvres majeures.

Le Walt Disney Concert Hall à Los Angeles (2003)Walt Disney Concert Hall à Los Angeles

Inauguré en 2003, il abrite l’orchestre philarmonique de Los Angeles. Il doit son nom au financement de 100 millions de dollars offert par la famille de Walt Disney, pour poursuivre ses dernières volontés de soutenir l’art. L’auditorium de plus de 2000 places a été conçu par Frank Gehry et Minoru Nagata, acousticien de renom. Ensemble, ils ont élevé l’acoustique et l’architecture au même niveau, pour créer une salle où le spectateur a l’impression de faire corps avec les artistes, tant du point de vue acoustique que visuel.

De grands volumes, l’utilisation du bois et du métal, de grandes baies vitrées et du mouvement, Frank Gehry a fait ici un concentré de son inspiration pour créer l’une de ses œuvres majeures.

 

Museum of Pop Culture à Seattle de Frank GehryLe Museum of Pop Culture à Seattle (2004)

Le MoPOP, Museum of POP culture, est un musée interactif, dédié au Rock’n’Roll, puis étendu en 2004 à la science-fiction. Frank Gehry a puisé son inspiration dans une guitare électrique, qu’il a décomposé en plusieurs morceaux. C’est un hommage à Jimi Hendrix, qui détruisait sa guitare électrique sur scène pendant ses concerts.

4000 panneaux d’acier inoxydable ou aluminium composent la peau du bâtiment. Chaque plaque est unique et découpée individuellement. Les coloris or et argent sont obtenus par trempage dans des bains d’acide chargés électriquement. L’aluminium est peint en rouge et bleu.

 

 

L’hôtel Marqués de Riscal en Espagne (2006)Hotel Marqués de Riscal de Frank Gehry

L’hôtel Marqués de Riscal, financé par l’entreprise du même nom, industriel du vin en Espagne, a pour but de créer un ensemble de loisirs autour de la marque. Le bâtiment abrite un hôtel de luxe et deux restaurants, dont un étoilé au guide Michelin. Frank Gehry crée pour la marque un bâtiment en pierre de Grès, avec une couverture en titane. La couverture présente trois couleurs : le rose, pour représenter le vin, l’or, caractéristique des bouteilles de Marqués de Riscal, et l’argent représentant les capsules des bouteilles.

 

 

Fondation Louis Vuitton La Fondation Louis Vuitton, à Paris (2014)

Installée au cœur du jardin d’acclimatation à Paris, la Fondation Louis Vuitton a été pensée pour s’inscrire au mieux au cœur de cet environnement naturel. Frank Gehry puise son inspiration dans les structures de verre du Grand Palais. Il crée douze voiles de verre translucide, comme gonflées par le vent pour créer le mouvement. Les structures de verre enveloppent l’iceberg, une structure faire de 19000 panneaux de béton blanc tous différents pour créer un motif en tremblement de terre. Des terrasses arborées et un plan d’eau finissent d’intégrer ce bateau de verre, de bois et d’acier dans son environnement.

 

 

Les fondations Guggenheim, à Bilbao (1997) et Abu-Dhabi (2022)Musée Guggenheim à Bilbao

La fondation Guggenheim à Bilbao est probablement l’édifice le plus connu de Frank Gehry. Sa forme unique, assemblant la pierre, le verre et le titane, ont très rapidement rendu mondialement célèbre la ville de Bilbao et Frank Gehry. Ce bâtiment a pleinement contribué à développer l’attrait touristique de la ville, qui a entrainé un véritable essor des infrastructures de la ville dans son ensemble. L’impact de l’ouverture de la fondation Guggenheim par Frank Gehry à Bilbao a été tel, que les chercheurs ont baptisé « effet Bilbao » l’impact sur une ville de l’ouverture d’un site culturel majeur.
La fondation Guggenheim poursuit sa confiance en Frank Gehry, en lui commandant la création de la nouvelle fondation à Abu-Dhabi en 2022. Depuis 1995, Frank Gehry a créé en collaboration avec Dassault système (Logiciel CATIA) un logiciel d’architecture qui lui permet de concevoir et de réaliser ses projets : Digital Project.

 

Immeuble Opus à Hong Kong de Frank GehryL’immeuble Opus, à Hong-Kong (2012)

L’immeuble Opus à Hong-Kong est tout simplement l’immeuble d’habitation le plus cher d’Asie. Terminé en 2012 et installé sur le Victoria Peak à Hong Kong, les appartements sont spacieux et bénéficient d’une magnifique vue sur la baie de Hong-Kong. Frank Gehry a pris son inspiration dans l’emblème de Hong-Kong, la fleur du Bauhinia. Il en résulte un bâtiment magnifique, tout en parallèles mais sans verticales. Les façades s’appuient sur des poteaux inclinés, faits pour rappeler les bambous, très présents à Hong Kong. Le bâtiment a été pensé pour être efficace d’un point de vue environnemental, en privilégiant des solutions de ventilation et d’éclairage naturelles, et des choix techniques respectueux de l’environnement. La consommation électrique du bâtiment est ainsi réduite de 31% par rapport à la moyenne des bâtiments de même surface.

 

La maison dansante, à Prague (1996)La maison dansante à Prague de Frank Gehry

La maison dansante de Prague est un immeuble de bureaux construit sur une parcelle rasée par les bombardements de la seconde guerre mondiale. En 1989, après la
révolution de Velours survenue en République Tchèque, le président de l’époque commande un bâtiment à l’architecte tchèque Vlado Milunić, qui doit symboliser les lendemains dansants qui ont suivi la Révolution de Velours. Le projet est constitué de deux parties en situation de dialogue, l’une statique (le passé) et l’autre dynamique (le présent et futur). Le projet finit par échouer et le terrain est racheté par le groupe ING pour construire un immeuble de bureaux. Le groupe décide de garder Vlado Milunić en tant qu’architecte du projet, sous réserve qu’il soit accompagné par un architecte de renommée internationale. Jean Nouvel refuse l’offre, Frank Gehry l’accepte. Les deux architectes travaillent véritablement ensemble, Frank Gehry apporte son style dynamique, Vlado Milunić sa touche locale et sa connaissance du projet. Il en résulte un bâtiment à la fois moderne et respectant les codes architecturaux de la ville. Une très belle collaboration entre deux architectes, le style Frank Gehry et le pragmatisme de Vlado Milunić.

Au cours de sa carrière, Frank Gehry a su imposer son style au monde, et créer une véritable signature Gehry. Chacune de ses créations est unique, mais sait du premier coup d’œil qu’on sait qu’il en est l’architecte. Un bâtiment Frank Gehry, c’est l’assurance de créer une renommée mondiale à la ville qui l’accueillera, et l’assurance de laisser au monde une empreinte qui ne laissera personne indifférent

 

Pour aller plus loin sur Frank Gehry

Signature article Frank Gehry

L’équipe Methods Studio

Notre réussite c’est votre satisfaction.

Suivez-nous sur LinkedIn

https://www.methods-studio.fr

Contactez nos architectes-constructeurs : contact@methods-studio.fr

Préférences de confidentialité

When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in the form of cookies. Here you can change your Privacy preferences. It is worth noting that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we are able to offer.

Click to enable/disable Google Analytics tracking code.

Click to enable/disable Google Fonts.

Click to enable/disable Google Maps.

Click to enable/disable video embeds.

Ce site internet met en place des cookies notamment ceux de services tierces comme Google analytics. Ces cookies sont présents pour nous permettrent de réaliser la mesure d'audience du site et vous donne accès à certains contenus. Vous pouvez paramétrer vos préférences en matière de confidentialité et/ou accepter l'utilisation des cookies lors de votre navigation sur ce site.